skip navigation

Twenty PDL Players On Hermann Watch List

08/05/2015, 12:00pm EDT

PDL Feature

Wednesday, August 5, 2015

TAMPA, Fla. – The 2015 MAC Hermann Trophy watch list was announced on Wednesday as 20 current and former PDL standouts were named as preseason contenders for the most prestigious award in NCAA Division I Men’s Soccer.

Leading the way are a pair of 2015 PDL finalists in the New York Red Bulls U23’s Adam Najem (Akron) and Chris Thorsheim (Bucknell). Thorsheim played every minute for New York during PDL Championship Weekend, adding an assist in the semifinal victory vs. the Ocala Stampede. He finished the regular season with a goal and two assists in nine appearances.

Four players with Sounders FC U23 experience were selected, including two who were part of the 2015 squad that won the Western Conference championship. Guillermo Delgado (Delaware) appeared in 12 regular season games for the club this year, leading the team in goals with five and earning an All-Conference selection. Midfielder Brandt Bronico (Charlotte) was also a fixture for the team, appearing in nine games and contributing four goals and three assists.

U.S. National Team member Jordan Morris (Stanford) played with Sounders FC U23 in 2014 and returns to the award watch list, along with his former PDL teammate Christopher Wehan (New Mexico).

The Northwest Division is also represented by two members of the Portland Timbers U23 squad. Defenders Cory Brown (Xavier) and Brandon Vincent (Stanford) were part of the squad which finished second in the competitive group this past season.

A MAC Hermann Trophy semifinalist in 2014, former Baltimore Bohemians defender Joshua Yaro returns to the watch list as the top prospect prepares for his junior season at Georgetown. His college teammate and fellow Bohs alum Brandon Allen is also on this list for the upcoming season after earning NSCAA All-American honors last year at Georgetown.

Other players to watch include defender Francis De Vries (Saint Francis PA), a 2014 PDL champion with the Michigan Bucks, former Derby City Rovers midfielder Napo Matsoso (Kentucky), and the Ventura County Fusion duo of Julian Zamora and Christian Duarte, who both return to play for CSU Bakersfield.

2015 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Brandon Allen, Sr., Georgetown – Baltimore Bohemians
Michael Amick, Jr., UCLA – OC Blues U23

Mathew Aurednik, Jr., Wofford
Neco Brett, Sr., Robert Morris – Reading United AC
Brandt Bronico, Jr., Charlotte – Sounders FC U23, Carolina Dynamo
Cory Brown, So., Xavier – Portland Timbers U23
Francis De Vries, Jr., Saint Francis (Pa.) – Michigan Bucks
Guillermo Delgado, Jr., Delaware – Sounders FC U23
Christian Duarte, Sr., CSU Bakersfield – Ventura County Fusion

Jamie Dubyoski, Sr., Navy
Wuilito Fernandes, Jr., Massachusetts-Lowell
Pat Flynn, Jr., Bowling Green
Rodrigo Fuentes, Sr., UNLV
Fabien Herbers, Jr., Creighton
Patrick Hodan, Sr., Notre Dame
Callum Irving, Sr., Kentucky – Vancouver Whitecaps FC U23
Napo Matsoso, Jr., Kentucky – Derby City Rovers
Chase Minter, Sr., Cal Poly – Ventura County Fusion, Des Moines Menace
Robert Moewes, Jr., Binghamton – IMG Academy Bradenton
Jordan Morris, Jr., Stanford – Sounders FC U23
Adam Najem, Jr., Akron – New York Red Bulls U23

Kyle Parker, Sr., Charlotte
Timo Pitter, Sr., Creighton
Freddy Ruiz, Sr., UAB – Orlando City U23, Ocala Stampede
Tanner Thompson, Jr., Indiana
Chris Thorsheim, Sr., Bucknell – New York Red Bulls U23
Brandon Vincent, Sr., Stanford – Portland Timbers U23, Ventura County Fusion
Christopher Wehan, Jr., New Mexico – Sounders FC U23, OC Blues U23
Joshua Yaro, Jr., Georgetown – Baltimore Bohemians
Julian Zamora, So., CSU Bakersfield – Ventura County Fusion

Tag(s): NEWS