skip navigation

2017 PDL Preview: Heartland Division

04/25/2017, 11:45am EDT

Former PDL champions Thunder Bay Chill, Des Moines Menace among six clubs in division

Latest News

A total of six clubs, including former PDL champions Des Moines Menace and Thunder Bay Chill, will participate in the Premier Development League's Heartland Division in 2017.

Since 2007, either the Menace or the Chill have won the Heartland Division, with the former claiming the past three titles. Both clubs have won a PDL title as well, with the Menace winning the crown in 2005 and the Chill topping the league in 2008.

Joining the Chill and Menace in the Heartland Division this season are Chicago FC United, the St. Louis LionsWSA Winnipeg and the Saint Louis FC U23.

Many current professional players have competed in the Heartland Division over the years, including D.C. United attacker Lamar Neagle, Portland Timbers defender Lawrence Olum and Colorado Rapids defender Axel Sjöberg.


Head Coach: Jamie Smith
Location: Chicago, IL
Home Field: Northwestern University
First PDL Season: 2017
PDL Playoffs Appearances: N/A
PDL Titles: N/A

Head Coach: John Pascarella
Location: Des Moines, IA
Home Field: Valley Stadium
First PDL Season: 1995
PDL Playoffs Appearances: 1995-98, 2001-03, 2005-06, 2009, 2011, 2014-16
PDL Titles: PDL Champions (2005), Regular Season Champions (2002, 2014), Central Conference Champions (2005), Heartland Division Champions (2002, 2009, 2014-16)
Notable Alums: Sam Brotherton (Sunderland A.F.C.), Lamar Neagle (D.C. United), Daniel Johnson (Chicago Fire), Deshorn Brown (Tampa Bay Rowdies), Austin Ledbetter (Saint Louis FC)

Head Coach: Kevin Stoll
Location: St. Louis, MO
Home Field: SLSG Collinsville
First PDL Season: 2016
PDL Playoffs Appearances: None
PDL Titles: None
Notable Alums: Tariq Akeel (FC Haka), Faik Hajderovic (NK Vinogradar)

Head Coach: Tony Glavin
Location: Cottleville, MO
Home Field: Tony Glavin Soccer Complex
First PDL Season: 2006
PDL Playoffs Appearances: 2007, 2014
PDL Titles: None
Notable Alums: Lawrence Olum (Portland Timbers), Tom Heinemann (San Francisco Deltas), Jordan Roberts (Reno 1868 FC), Jake Bond (Harrisburg City Islanders), Jacob Cawsey (Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC)

Head Coach: Giovanni Petraglia
Location: Thunder Bay, ON
Home Field: Fort William Stadium
First PDL Season: 2000
PDL Playoffs Appearances: 2007-13, 2015-16
PDL Titles: PDL Champions (2008), Central Conference Champions (2008, 2010-13), Heartland Division Champions (2007-08, 2010-13)
Notable Alums: Axel Sjöberg (Colorado Rapids), Shaun Francis (San Jose Earthquakes), Kosuke Kimura (Tulsa Roughnecks FC), Lee Nishanian (Harrisburg City Islanders), Sunny Omoregie (Hapoel Kfar Saba FC)

Head Coach: Eduardo Badescu
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Home Field: Winnipeg Waverly Soccer Stadium
First PDL Season: 2011
PDL Playoffs Appearances: None
PDL Titles: None
Notable Alums: Tyson Farago (FC Edmonton), Moses Danto (formerly Phoenix Rising FC)

Related Articles

Tag(s): NEWS  Central Conference  Heartland Division  Chicago FC United  Des Moines Menace  St. Louis Lions  Thunder Bay Chill  WSA Winnipeg  Saint Louis FC U23