skip navigation

U.S. Open Cup Preview: 12 PDL Teams Set to Face Professional Clubs

05/16/2017, 11:15am EDT

Fuego, Eagles among PDL franchises to host USL clubs

Latest News

A total of 12 Premier Development League franchises – three more than in 2016 – are set to compete in the Second Round of the 2017 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup.

Professional opposition enters this round of the competition, as a league-high 18 United Soccer League clubs will take part alongside PDL teams. All PDL teams will play their Second Round matches on Wednesday, while the USL's Tampa Bay Rowdies kick off the round on Tuesday with a match against the Jacksonville Armada U23 at 7:30 p.m. ET from Al Lang Stadium in St. Petersburg, Florida.

In the past five years of the competition, PDL teams have beaten professional teams 13 times^. The three-time PDL champions Michigan Bucks, 2016 Eastern Conference champions Ocean City Nor'easters and three-time PDL divisional winner FC Tucson have all topped pro opposition in that span.

The Third Round of the compeition is scheduled for May 31, while MLS teams will enter the tournament in the Fourth Round on June 13-14.

^This post has been updated on May 17.

Follow The PDL

Most Read News

Latest News

Tag(s): NEWS  U.S. Open Cup  Michigan Bucks  Chicago FC United  Ocean City Nor'easters  Reading United AC  Carolina Dynamo  Charlotte Eagles  OKC Energy U23  South Florida Surf  Burlingame Dragons FC  Fresno Fuego  FC Golden State Force  FC Tucson