skip navigation

NCAA DI Tournament Bracket Released

11/13/2017, 2:45pm EST

Can any of the 48 contenders dethrone two-time defending champion Stanford?

Latest News

With conference tournaments around the nation now completed, the NCAA has released its field of 48 teams competing in the DI Tournament.

As expected, Wake Forest leads all comers as the No. 1 overall seed after winning the ACC regular-season and tournament titles, set to play the winner of William & Mary and Columbia in the first round. The Big Ten claims the No. 2 seed as Indiana slot in next, despite falling to Wisconsin in the Big Ten championship match on Sunday. The ACC strikes back for slots No. 3 and No. 4 however, which go to UNC-Chapel Hill and Louisville respectively.

The top 16 round out, in order, with the following: No. 5 Akron, No. 6 Duke, No. 7 Michigan State, No. 8 Clemson, No. 9 Stanford, No. 10 Western Michigan, No. 11 Virginia, No. 12 Notre Dame, No. 13 Michigan, No. 14 Georgetown, No. 15 Dartmouth, and No. 16 VCU.

Two-time defending champion Stanford couldn't crack the upper-half of the seeding, despite winning the Pac-12 title once again, and now faces a tough path to a three-peat. The ACC leads all conferences with seven ranked teams and nine total teams in the tournament.

First-round games will be played Thursday, Nov. 16, on campus sites, while all second-round action will take place Sunday, Nov. 19. The third round will be played Nov. 25 and 26, while the quarterfinals will be played Dec. 1 and 2. The Men’s College Cup will be held Dec. 8 and 10 at Talen Energy Stadium in Philadelphia with live coverage on ESPNU for the semifinals and ESPN2 for the national championship game.

Here's a breakdown of the tournament field.

2017 NCAA Tournament Field

By Conference

ACC (9) - Wake Forest, UNC-Chapel Hill, Louisville, Duke, Clemson, Virginia, Notre Dame, NC State, Virginia Tech

Big Ten (5) - Indiana, Michigan State, Michigan, Wisconsin, Maryland

Atlantic 10 (3) - VCU, UMass, Fordham

Pac-12 (3) - Stanford, California, Washington

America East (2) - Albany, New Hampshire

Big East (2) - Georgetown, Butler

Colonial Athletic Association (2) - William & Mary, UNC-Wilmington

Conference USA (2) - FIU, Old Dominion

Ivy League (2) - Dartmouth, Columbia

MAC (2) - Akron, Western Michigan

West Coast Conference (2) - Pacific, San Francisco

Western Athletic Conference (2) - Seattle, Air Force

American Athletic Conference (1) - SMU

ASUN (1) - Lipscomb

Big South (1) - Presbyterian

Big West (1) - Cal State Fullerton

Horizon League (1) - Illinois-Chicago

Metro-Atlantic Athletic Conference (1) - Fairfield

Missouri Valley (1) - Central Arkansas

Northeast Conference (1) - St. Francis

Patriot League (1) - Colgate

Southern Conference (1) - Mercer

Summit League (1) - Omaha

Sun Belt (1) - Coastal Carolina

Second Round Match-ups

No. 1 Wake Forest

  • Plays winner of William & Mary vs. Columbia

No. 2 Indiana

  • Plays winner of Old Dominion vs. NC State

No. 3 UNC-Chapel Hill

  • Plays winner of UNC-Wilmington vs. Presbyterian

No. 4 Clemson

  • Plays winner of Mercer vs. Coastal Carolina

No. 5 Akron

  • Plays winner of Washington vs. Seattle

No. 6 Duke

  • Plays winner of FIU vs. Omaha

No. 7 Michigan State

  • Plays winner of Virginia Tech vs. Air Force

No. 8 Clemson

  • Plays winner of Coastal Carolina vs. Mercer

No. 9 Stanford

  • Plays winner of Pacific vs. Cal State Fullerton

No. 10 Western Michigan

  • Plays winner of Maryland vs. Albany

No. 11 Virginia

  • Plays winner of Fordham vs. St. Francis

No. 12 Notre Dame

  • Plays winner of Wisconsin vs. Illinois-Chicago

No. 13 Michigan

  • Plyys winner of UMass vs. Colgate

No. 14 Georgetown

  • Plays winner of SMU vs. Central Arkansas

No. 15 Dartmouth

  • Plays winner of New Hampshire vs. Fairfield

No. 16 VCU

  • Plays winner of Butler vs. Lipscomb

Follow The PDL

Most Read News

Latest News

Tag(s): NEWS  #PATH2PRO  League News