skip navigation

Nine PDL Alums Lead Charleston to NCAA DII Title

12/04/2017, 9:00am EST

Golden Eagles top Lynn University on penalties to claim first national championship

Latest News

Photo by University of Charleston Athletics

Capping a stunning run through the NCAA DII Tournament, the University of Charleston defeated Lynn University on penalties to claim its first-ever national championship over the weekend.

Led by nine PDL alums, the Golden Eagles bounced back from a disappointing conference tournament to go on a magnificent run through the NCAA tournament in which the team didn't concede a single goal. The final was a scoreless affair through regulation and overtime before entering penalties. After each team converted their openers, Lynn missed their next three while Charleston converted all of its takes to power through and win the title.

The opening penalty for Charleston was converted by Mississippi Brilla FC defender Thomas Vancaeyezeele, followed shortly by Robin Lapert. But it was another PDL alum, Cincinnati Dutch Lions midfielder Patrick Guier, who converted the third and final winning penalty for the Golden Eagles.

Also appearing in the final were The Villages SC goalkeeper Paulo PitaOKC Energy U23 defender Tam DimairoOKC Energy U23 forward Will RobertsMississippi Brilla FC defender Thomas Vancaeyezeele and West Virginia Chaos forward Freddie Tracey.

Here's the full roster for the University of Charleston's title-winning team.

2017 University of Charleston Golden Eagles

GK Paulo Pita - The Villages SC

D Danilo Dias - The Villages SC

D Armando Tikvic

M Philip Vo-Van

D Leon Kroiss

M Ross Holland

M Kieran Bywater

M Gabriel Cabral

F Freddie Tracey - West Virginia Chaos

M Patrick Guier - Cincinnati Dutch Lions

F David Achaerandio

F Ettore Ballestracci

D Robin Lapert

D Tam Dimairo - OKC Energy U23

F Rafael Simoes

D Isiah Collie

D Justin Brown

GK Ewen Le Gallo

D William Clague

D Williams N'Dah

D Lloyd Howarth - West Virginia Chaos

M Bruno Dos Santos

D Max Dandy

M Sam Bethell

D Michael Di Giuseppe

M Vishal Patel - West Virginia Chaos

F Will Roberts - OKC Energy U23

M Adrian Montalvo

M Christopher Ortiz

F Christian Quintero

GK Ian De Oliveira Martins

D Thomas Vancaeyezeele - Mississippi Brilla FC

Follow The PDL

Most Read News

Latest News

Tag(s): NEWS  Top Performers  #PATH2PRO