skip navigation

Dynamo’s Bakero Awarded 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy

01/05/2018, 7:45pm EST

Bakero becomes 10th PDL Alum to win award as best NCAA DI player

Photo by Wake Forest Athletics

The Missouri Athletic Club tonight awarded the MAC Hermann Trophy to Wake Forest senior forward Jon Bakero, who becomes the 10th PDL alum to win the prestigious award for the best NCAA DI player.

Bakero, who competed in the Premier Development League in 2017 with the Carolina Dynamo after appearing with FC Tucson in 2016, completed a stellar senior season with the Demon Deacons that saw the team win their second-consecutive ACC Championship and reach their second-consecutive College Cup. Bakero was a key contributor during the season, scoring 16 goals and 14 assists for an NCAA-leading 46 points, helping Wake Forest earn the No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament.

Prior to his senior season, Bakero established himself as a top attacker at Wake Forest in his freshman year, scoring a team-leading six goals and recording two assists. Bakero’s sophomore campaign improved upon his success, resulting in eight goals and six assists as well as All-ACC Third Team honors. His junior season resulted in another seven goals and four assists for Bakero, while earning ACC and NCAA All-Tournament Team honors and guiding Wake Forest to its first ACC Championship in 27 years.

In addition to Bakero becoming the 10th PDL alum to win the award, this marks the 11th time a PDL player has won it due to Patrick Mullins winning in two consecutive seasons in 2012 and 2013. Other previous winners include Seattle Sounders forward Jordan Morris in 2015, Houston Dynamo forward Andrew Wenger in 2011 and Portland Timbers midfielder Darlington Nagbe in 2010.

PDL Alums to Win MAC Hermann Trophy




PDL Team

Jon Bakero 2017 Wake Forest Carolina Dynamo (2017), FC Tucson (2016)
Jordan Morris 2015 Stanford Sounders FC U23 (2014)
Patrick Mullins 2013 Maryland New Orleans Jesters (2011-12), Baton Rouge Capitals (2007)
Patrick Mullins 2012 Maryland New Orleans Jesters (2011-12), Baton Rouge Capitals (2007)
Andrew Wenger 2011 Duke Carolina Dynamo (2011), Reading United (2010)
Darlington Nagbe 2010 Akron Cleveland Internationals (2007-10)
Teal Bunbury 2009 Akron Rochester Thunder (2009)
Marcus Tracy 2008 Wake Forest Carolina Dynamo (2008)
Joseph Lapira 2006 Notre Dame Baton Rouge Capitals (2007), Lafayette Swamp Cats (2004), Louisiana Outlaws (2003)
Danny O'Rourke 2004 Indiana Chicago Fire Premier (2004, 2002), Columbus Shooting Stars (2003), Dayton Gemini (2000)
Chris Wingert 2003 St. John's Brooklyn Knights (2003)

Follow The PDL

Most Read News

  • 2018 PDL Players to Watch

  • 05/03/2018, 10:30am EDT , By COLTON CORESCHI -
  • Schmitt, Dunwell lead 50 players to follow during 2018 PDL season
  • Read More

Latest News

Tag(s): NEWS  Features  Top Performers  #PATH2PRO