skip navigation

Hosts Unveiled for 2018 PDL Conference Playoffs

07/10/2018, 9:30am EDT
By COLTON CORESCHI - colton.coreschi@uslsoccer.com

Reading, Menace, Tormenta FC and Force set to host regional rounds

With the Premier Development League Playoffs set to begin on July 20-21, 2018, the hosts for the Conference Round - consisting of two semifinals and a final - have been unveiled.

Each conference’s playoffs will be hosted by one of the four teams to qualify to the semifinals and will ultimately decide what four teams from across the country qualify for the following weekend’s PDL National Semifinals. In conferences with three divisions, the division winners and the best second-place team conference-wide qualify for the playoffs. In conferences with two divisions, the division winners and runner-ups qualify.

“It is always an exciting time in the Premier Development League as we approach our playoffs,” said PDL Co-Director Chris Madden. “Entering the final week of the season, we’ve seen several teams already book their tickets, including all four of our Conference Round hosts this season, and look forward to seeing which remaining teams will join them and compete for the Conference Championships and ultimately the PDL Championship.”

The winners of each Conference Championship will advance to the National Semifinals the following weekend - with hosting teams to be announced in the near future - where the final four will compete for a place at the PDL Championship on August 4.

Here’s a look at each conference’s hosts, schedules, qualified teams and teams still alive in the hunt for the playoffs.

Eastern Conference

Host: Reading United AC
Venue: Gurski Stadium; Reading, PA.

Schedule:
Semifinal #1: Black Rock FC vs. New York Red Bulls U23 - Fri. July 20, 5 p.m. ET
Semifinal #2: Reading United AC vs. Myrtle Beach Mutiny - Fri. July 20, 7:30 p.m. ET
Final: Sat. July 21, 7 p.m. ET

Qualified:
Northeast Division: Black Rock FC
Mid Atlantic Division: Reading United AC
Southeast Division: Myrtle Beach Mutiny
Wildcard: New York Red Bulls U23

Central Conference

Host: Des Moines Menace
Venue: Valley Stadium; Des Moines, IA.

Schedule:
Semifinal #1: Dayton Dutch Lions vs. Chicago FC United - Fri. July 20, 4:30 p.m. CT (5:30 p.m. ET)
Semifinal #2: Des Moines Menace vs. Lansing United - Fri. July 20, 7:30 p.m. CT (8:30 p.m. ET)
Final: Sat. July 21, 7:30 p.m. CT (8:30 p.m. ET)

Qualified:
Heartland Division: Des Moines Menace
Great Lakes Division: Dayton Dutch Lions
Heartland Wildcard: Chicago FC United
Great Lakes Wildcard: Lansing United

Southern Conference

Host: South Georgia Tormenta FC
Venue: Erk Russell Park; Statesboro, GA.

Schedule:
Semifinal #1: SIMA Aguilas vs. Brazos Valley Cavalry F.C. - Fri. July 20, 5 p.m. ET
Semifinal #2: South Georgia Tormenta FC vs. The Villages SC - Fri. July 20, 8 p.m. ET
Final: Sat. July 21, 8 p.m. ET

Qualified:
Deep South Division: South Georgia Tormenta FC
Southeast Division: SIMA Aguilas
Mid South Division: Brazos Valley Cavalry F.C.
Wildcard: The Villages SC

Western Conference

Host: FC Golden State Force
Venue: Rio Hondo College; Whittier, CA.

Schedule:
Semifinal #1: Calgary Foothills FC vs. Colorado Rapids U23 - Fri. July 20, 4 p.m. PT (7 p.m. ET)
Semifinal #2: FC Golden State Force vs. FC Tucson - Fri. July 20, 7 p.m. PT (10 p.m. ET)
Final: Sat. July 21, 7 p.m. PT (10 p.m. ET)

Qualified:
Southwest Division: FC Golden State Force
Northwest Division: Calgary Foothills FC
Mountain Division: Colorado Rapids U23
Wildcard: FC Tucson


Follow The PDL

Most Read News

  • PDL Expert Picks: Week 11

  • 07/09/2018, 1:30pm EDT , By COLTON CORESCHI - colton.coreschi@uslsoccer.com
  • Your chance to test your knowledge against the PDL Experts
  • Read More

Latest News

Tag(s): NEWS  Features  #PATH2PRO  League News  Des Moines Menace  Reading United AC  South Georgia Tormenta FC  FC Golden State Force